Things it took me too long to learn. Please add to the list.

Have a brightly colored folder in a place everyone can access, for all the tax documents that come in at the beginning of the year!

unicorn33 said:

Doctors know much less than you think they do, but they will rarely admit it.

And to add to that: Some doctors will do minor treatments that aren't really necessary, or try to sell you extra vitamins you don't really need, that nets them a few more dollars for your visit.

If you buy an item at Costco in store or online and it goes on sale within 30 days,  you can get an adjustment on the price with receipt. After having my membership for 8 years I’m only learning this now. I reckon I’ve left several hundreds of dollars on the table. I’m beyond annoyed at myself. 

If it makes you feel any better, I've been a member at least as long if not longer, and I didn't know this either.

ElizMcCord said:

If you buy an item at Costco in store or online and it goes on sale within 30 days,  you can get an adjustment on the price with receipt. After having my membership for 8 years I’m only learning this now. I reckon I’ve left several hundreds of dollars on the table. I’m beyond annoyed at myself. 

I didn't know this either. But if it makes you feel even *more* better, not only have I undoubtedly left money on the table in the past, but I will continue to do so in the future, because I'm never going to know if something I bought in the last 30 days is on sale now.

unicorn33 said:

If it makes you feel any better, I've been a member at least as long if not longer, and I didn't know this either.
ElizMcCord said:

Don't buy Stop & Shop brand scrubber sponges to save a few pennies vs. name brand. The scrubber side is horribly cheap and largely ineffective from the get-go, and it breaks down after just a use or two.

Very important life lesson, this is!