The New York Times Crossword Puzzle thread

mjc said:

I enjoy the acrostic too (online). 

jimmurphy, i don't know if it's in the app, but it's available (along with its archive) online by subscription, which i think is about $20 a year for all the puzzles and archives.

Is it considered obsession if i've worked my way back through the acrostic archive to 2004?

Recently i've picked up Spelling Bee and sometimes Tiles.  Interesting thing to me in Spelling Bee is coming back to it off and on during the day, can usually squeeze out 2 or 3 more words.  Annoying thing, of course, is their limited word list, groused about earlier in this thread.

I have a crossword subscription. Is there a separate acrostic subscription?

mjc said:

Most of Tiles is pretty no-brainer, but there's one design that comes up (eg, yesterday) where the parts are more complicated and overlap, and it gets fairly challenging, at least for me.

iirc, best score most days is about 40, but i think yesterday was 50+.

I didn't even realize there was scoring in tiles.  I find it's easy to finish, and do it just to pass time, not to beat a score.

I'm finding the Bee frustrating because it has so many words that are not really words.  If you put the letters into other word search programs, they don't come up.  Yesterday's was pretty fun -- got a lot of words without making any up.

And could we have an "e" once in a while?   wink

You can get all the games without subscribing, at "nytimes.com".  I also get the daily Times newsletter for free, and the games are all included at the end.

eta:  We got an "e" today, and it was the first time I made "Genius"!  

jimmurphy, the acrostic is included in my online (not phone) crossword subscription.  To get to the acrostic archive (not necessarily recommended!), click on Crossword Archives, then the Acrostic tab.