SOMA Celebrates Women

http://somawomen.org/events/

Tonight:

Join us on Zoom on Tuesday, March 2nd at 7:30PM for the Maplewood Township Committee Meeting. Early in the meeting, Committeewoman Nancy Adams will be joined by invited women who’ve served Maplewood and South Orange in elected office to read a Proclamation proclaiming March as Women’s History Month 2021. We invite all current and former SOMA Women who have held elected office in our community, thus making an impact on public life in our community, to join us. Please RSVP if you are able to join Ms. Adams at the podium and for a photo recognizing the women of SOMA who have made a difference! Nadams@twp.maplewood.nj.us.


Full list: http://somawomen.org/events/

Tonight's Event

In Case You Get Hit by a Bus: How to Organize Your Life Now for When You’re Not Around LaterVirtual Book Talk – Abby Schneiderman and Adam Seifer authorsThank you to [words] Bookstore owner, Jonah Zimiles for organizing some wonderful book talks for Women’s History Month!

This particular talk is something women and men alike need to know! Figure out how to prepare your estate and favorite things for when you leave this world for the next.The odds of getting hit by a bus are 495,000 to 1. But the odds that you’re going to die some day of something? Exactly.

In Case You Get Hit By A Bus will help even the most disorganized among us take control of our on- and off-line details so our loved ones won’t have to scramble later. Breaking the task down into three levels, from the most urgent (like granting access to passwords), to the technical (creating a manual for the systems in your home), to the nostalgic (assembling a living memory), this clear, step-by-step program not only removes the anxiety and stress from getting your life in order, it’s actually liberating.

Thursday, March 11, at 7:30 PM

Buy the Book Here.

Register here.


Upcoming Events: March 20 through March 31

A Free Mother/Daughter Contemporary Ballet Zoom Class For All Levels
Taught by Katie Lohiya, LJD Principal Dancer
Saturday March 20, 10am – 11am, Zoom
Lydia Johnson Dance, and Lydia Johnson Dance School

A joyful chance to celebrate women in a mother/daughter ballet and contemporary class! The class will start with a warm up that includes very basic ballet and progress to a series of modern sequences that are free flowing! For daughters ages 8 and up and mothers ( or caregivers) of all ages and all levels!

Katie Lohiya is originally from Chicago, and has been a member of Lydia Johnson Dance’s professional company for 6 years. She is now a Principal dancer and a Rehearsal Director for the company. She serves as Assistant Director of the LJD Dance Camp and teaches both Introductory Ballet, as well as Contemporary classes. Teaching is major passion for Katie. In addition to the LJD School, Katie is on faculty at NYC’s acclaimed The School at Steps on Broadway, as well as The Long Island City School of Ballet and Play Area Association. Katie is a passionate advocate for the creative curriculum she helps to develop at the LJD School and loves to share her knowledge with young dancers and always brings her positive attitude and passion for dancing to the classroom.

Pre-Register for Free Class Here.

Define Yourself. Don’t Be Defined.
Saturday, March 20, 2021
10am – 11:30am
Free Zoom

Sisters

and Friends will celebrate Women’s History Month with three current day

history makers. They will share with us about self-reflection,

self-identification and what it means to ‘be your best’. Sponsored by

Sister Friend Women’s Empowerment Series of Maplewood. We are honored to feature:Sonja Lowe, ‘Couch Time with Sonja’Alexandra Bernard Simmons, ‘Act Like A Lady Think Like A Boss’Joi M. Stanley, ‘Progressive Achievers’ & ‘Being Your Best’ Click the link to join

Women’s History Month Day of Service: Food, Feminine Hygiene Products, and Women’s Clothing Drive
Gather your donations, pull up and drop off your donations. Help the Girl Scouts help girls and women!
Saturday, March 20, 12:30pm – 4:30pm, OLS Pantry Lot, 217 Prospect Street, South Orange, NJ
CHS CURRENT EVENTS CLUB & POWER CLUB Host
Documentary Watch Party & Discussion Panel
She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry
FREE EVENT
Saturday, March 20, 2021 at 7pm

Register in advance for this meeting:

https://twp-maplewood-nj-us.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0uc–rrDkpHdYcX6...

POWER (People on Women’s Equity and Rights) is Columbia High School’s intersectional feminism club. POWER works to raise awareness about feminist issues within school, community, and world. POWER is a chapter of Girls Learn International, an organization that empowers and educates middle and high school students to advocate for human rights, equality, and universal education in the U.S. and around the world.

Columbia High School (CHS) Current Events Club

From global to local news, CHS Current Events Club members learn, discuss, debate and more. The Current Events Club seeks political reform in favor of social justice for marginalized groups, and strives for all young people to have a strong voice. Club members learn how to better articulate their thoughts, and learn to make effective arguments to create change in their future endeavors.

Sponsored by Maplewood Division of Arts & Culture, Maplewood Department of Community Services and SOMA Film Fest.

Virtual Book Talk: In My Mosque
Author, M. O. Yuskal with illustrations by Hatem Aly
Monday, March 22, at 7:00 PM, http://www.wordsbookstore.com/event/in-my-mosque/

Step in and discover all the rituals and wonder of the mosque in this lyrical debut picture book from M. O. Yuksel, with gorgeous artwork from New York Times bestselling illustrator Hatem Aly. A great conversation starter in the home or classroom, this book is perfect for fans of All Are Welcome and The Proudest Blue.

No matter who you are or where you’re from, everyone is welcome here. From grandmothers reading lines of the Qur’an and the imam telling stories of living as one, to meeting new friends and learning to help others, mosques are centers for friendship, community, and love.

M. O. Yuksel’s beautiful text celebrates the joys and traditions found in every mosque around the world and is brought to life with stunning artwork by New York Times bestselling illustrator Hatem Aly (Yasmin series, The Proudest Blue, The Inquisitor’s Tale). The book also includes backmatter with an author’s note, a glossary, and more information about many historical and significant mosques around the world.

Register Here.

The Affordable Care Act – 11th Year Anniversary
Virtual Book Talk – Jonathan Cohn and Dr. Ezekiel Emanuel, authors
http://www.wordsbookstore.com/event/aca-on-its-11th-year-anniversary/
Virtual Event with Jonathan Cohn, author of The Ten Year War and
Dr. Ezekiel J. Emanuel, author of The Trillion Dollar Revolution
Tuesday, March 23 — 7:30 PM

REGISTER HERE

Women are more likely to be left without health insurance through personal circumstances. Women are more likely to hold lesser paying jobs without health insurance, or lose medical coverage when divorced. This is an important session to educate women on the Affordable Care Act and learn how to protect themselves.

MAVIS! WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH FILM DISCUSSION
Tuesday, March 23 at 7 pm

REGISTER HERE

Join librarians Irene Langlois and Amanda Eigen for a discussion of

Mavis!, the first feature documentary on gospel/soul music legend and civil rights icon Mavis Staples and her family group, The Staple Singers. From the freedom songs of the ’60s and hits in the’70s, to funked-up collaborations and her recent albums, Mavis has stayed true to her roots, kept her family close, and inspired millions along the way.

Featuring powerful live performances, rare archival footage, and conversations with friends and contemporaries, MAVIS! reveals the struggles, successes, and intimate stories of her journey. At 75, she’s making the most vital music of her career and reaching a new generation of fans. Her message of love and equality is needed now more than ever.

Beginning Mindfulness Meditation Class
Taught by Jean Vitrano, Mindfulness Facilitator & Teacher
Tuesday, March 23, 11:00-11:45 am

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84039771331?pwd=L29jKzVlOEtuODVHemFzMmpFS1dvZz09Meeting ID: 840 3977 1331Passcode: 533437

A Fireside Chat with “Ask for More” author Alexandra Carter
Wednesday, March 24, 2021
7:00pm

Alex Carter is a Clinical Professor of Law and Director of the Mediation Clinic at Columbia Law School. She’s also the author of the groundbreaking book Ask for More, a Wall Street Journal bestseller.

Marie McGehee is Global Communications Executive at Fortune 20 Company

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 989 4685 3520
Passcode: 295661

Shakti Yoga and Living Arts in Maplewood presents: Move with Freedom
Thursday, March 25, 2021
12:00pm - 1:15pm

www.emergesomatics.com

Women’s Work: A Tasting Celebrating Women in the Chocolate Industry
Thursday, March 25 at 7:30pm Via Zoom

This Barometer Chocolate Virtual Chocolate Tasting in honor of Women’s History Month is a delicious opportunity to relax, connect, learn, and enjoy tasting exquisite chocolate in community. Tune into your senses and immerse yourself in the aromas, textures, tastes, colors and intricacies of fine flavor cacao by sampling award-winning craft chocolate bars from all over the world.

Join Nadine Kerstan, certified Chocolate Sommelier, judge for the International Chocolate Awards, and owner of the online boutique, Barometer Chocolate, as she guides you through a savoring experience of 4 award-winning bean-to-bar chocolates of exquisite “craftsWOMANship.” This tasting will be unique as it shines a spotlight on cacao that was harvested, fermented or crafted by women. Making its debut during this tasting will be the gorgeous artistry of Ade Badejo, local bean-to-bar chocolate maker of Verity Chocolate.

In this one-of-a-kind and luscious experience, you’ll learn about the art of mindfully tasting chocolate and increase your enjoyment and knowledge about this “food of the gods” during a 60-minute, delightful and celebratory Zoom workshop. Wine, spirit and inspired edible pairing suggestions will be offered for those who care to play and create!

This Virtual Tasting is available to you in two formats:

Individual Portion (for One Participant): $35 for local pick-up or delivery to SOMA

Or

Half Bars (for up to Two Participants): $60 for local pick-up or delivery to SOMA

For more information or to register for this event, please contact Nadine Kerstan: Nadine@barometerchocolate.com

WOMEN IN MUSIC – Virtual Chamber Music Concert
South Orange Symphony and Garden State Philharmonic
March 26, 2021 at 7:30pm

Free with Registration

The Strollers community theater is proud to present…
Lady Parts!
A fun and fabulous theatrical program featuring scenes and monologues performed by and about women.

In honor of Women’s history month, The Strollers is proud to show off its…LADY PARTS!

Scenes and snippets celebrating the fun and fabulous world of womanhood

Saturday, March 27, at 7:30pm, Zoom

Sunday, March 28, at 2:00pm, Zoom

Admission is free, but donations are gratefully accepted.

To attend the show and read the program, go to www.TheStrollers.org

Read more




In order to add a comment – you must Join this community – Click here to do so.