Noise-Free Summer?

http://villagegreennj.com/towns/maplewood-discusses-banning-commercial-leaf-blowers-june-august/

YES!  YES!  YES!

ONE THOUSAND TIMES YES!!!!!

Sadly, as a South Orange resident I would only benefit when I was in MW but this would be a wonderful beginning.  

Agreed. A wonderful beginning, which would suit both towns.

It will only be a wonderful beginning if it works:  cooperation from registered landscapers and workable enforcement plan in place.  Can all that really be accomplished by the start of this summer?

instead of banning leaf blowers wholesale, why not only allow them during certain specific time periods, i.e. the fall and early Spring, when leaves need to be blown.

Robert_Casotto said:

instead of banning leaf blowers wholesale, why not only allow them during certain specific time periods, i.e. the fall and early Spring, when leaves need to be blown.

The proposed ban would apply only in June, July and August.

Robert_Casotto said:

That actually is the proposal.  The prohibition would only be from June through August.  Spring and Fall leafblowing would still be permitted.

The current plan is to only ban them during the summer when, according to testimony given at last evening's TC meeting, leaf blowers are only used to clear grass from the sidewalks.  It would be a pilot project and thought would be given to expanding it only if it proved successful.

joan_crystal said:

The current plan is to only ban them during the summer when, according to testimony given at last evening's TC meeting, leaf blowers are only used to clear grass from the sidewalks.  It would be a pilot project and thought would be given to expanding it only if it proved successful.

It's a ban.  How could it not be "successful"?

But it only applies to commercial lawn/landscaping businesses. From my experience, they are there and gone in minutes. It's the residents who use their leaf blowers for hours at a time...

joan_crystal said: