Community Forum Regarding 298 Walton Avenue (formerly the JAC building)

The meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 17 at 7:30pm at the Baird Community Center (5 Mead Street). Please pass along.

Thanks,

Sheena

Thanks for setting this up, Sheena. We'll be there.

Can you let us know what the legal status of the building is? That is, who owns it, are there any restrictions on use, etc.

Thanks.

I wish the meeting were held in the actual building, it would help everyone to envision the possibilities as so many people in our towns have never been inside this space. It would be very nostalgic for the many people who carried a new friend home from there and heartwarming for the old volunteers who loved so many of the temporary residents.

Steve,

I'm not an expert on this topic yet - but I'm learning. From my current understanding, we own the land and building but Maplewood has an interest in the building because they helped pay for it (I believe around $150k). South Orange provided the land and a financial contribution as well (I believe somewhere in the $50k-$75k range). There are no restrictions on its use so all the things folks have been suggesting are all in play.

Sheena said:
Steve,
I'm not an expert on this topic yet - but I'm learning. From my current understanding, we own the land and building but Maplewood has an interest in the building because they helped pay for it (I believe around $150k). South Orange provided the land and a financial contribution as well (I believe somewhere in the $50k-$75k range). There are no restrictions on its use so all the things folks have been suggesting are all in play.

@Sheena,

Is it true that $750,000 came from charitable donations specifically for a shelter?

Morganna, are you including operating expenses in that number? If you are, you should ask the folks who ran the place into the ground last time. Because there is no way that that is a million dollar building.