An A's batter hit a foul pop up near the 3rd base dugout. The Royals third baseman caught it and his momentum carried him into the dugout. The umpire ruled the batter out and then a dead ball where the runners on base advanced--with one scoring.
The rule cited is: Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) of the MLB rulebook, which states:
If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area.
But how does this differ from a right fielder making a catch while falling into the stands? I am pretty sure I have seen runners hold or tag up and no one called a dead ball timeout with runner advancing. Why does this rule suddenly apply here?
Five For Fighting with String Quartet Playing Hits & Holiday Favorites
Dec 12, 2019 at 7:30pm
Dec 13, 2019 at 8:00pm
Rent Party: Lily Vakili Band, Allied Chemical, Thrill Ride
The Hot Sardines' Holiday Stomp!
Dec 14, 2019 at 8:00pm
Durand-Hedden House Gingerbread House Contest & Holiday Celebration in December
Dec 15, 2019 at 1:00pm
Maplewood Concert Band Holiday Concert
Dec 15, 2019 at 3:00pm
Lights! Cameras! Holiday! Maplewood Glee Club Winter Concert w/Westfield HS Chorale
Dec 15, 2019 at 4:00pm
EagleMania The World's Greatest Eagles Tribute Band
Dec 20, 2019 at 8:00pm
Cherish the Ladies – Celtic Christmas
Dec 22, 2019 at 7:00pm
Droll Designs platter and bowl (sold together or separately) $140 More info
Ralph Lauren Polo children’s 3-piece Place Setting and Flatware Set $35 More info
Two Piece Wooden Cabinet (Vintage) $90 More info
Armoir $150 More info
Byer's Collectible Carolers $20 More info
Free Filing Cabinet $0 More info