Ask Me Anything • Licensed Master Plumber

guitardad said:

Hi Jaytee, good question. Though I've never done it before, based on what I've watched/read, I should be able to do it. Though not sure how much sediment may have built up near the outlet at this point, so I was concerned it might not even flow out. The ultimate goal of having it run clear was one of the things I read about. 

just open the valve. I think you need a flat head screwdriver to do it. Turn counterclockwise to open. Make sure you have a bucket under the spigot or connect a garden hose to the sump pump. It’s not that difficult. 

We are thinking of installing a "powder room" toilet and hand wash sink room on the first floor of our house.  Space is tight.  What are the minimum floor space requirements for a powder room?   I also understand that building/plumbing permits,  hot, cold water, sink, and toilet drains, vents, and fresh air ventilation will be required.   Should I call the Township Construction Official?  But first, before getting too far along, I want to know the minimum floor space to see if the project is even feasible.  

RobertRoe said:

We are thinking of installing a "powder room" toilet and hand wash sink room on the first floor of our house.  Space is tight.  What are the minimum floor space requirements for a powder room?   I also understand that building/plumbing permits,  hot, cold water, sink, and toilet drains, vents, and fresh air ventilation will be required.   Should I call the Township Construction Official?  But first, before getting too far along, I want to know the minimum floor space to see if the project is even feasible.  

how much is your tight space? I’m thinking 5x4 feet. Say 20 sq ft. Anything smaller than that is tight. I just did mine last month. Remodeled the existing powder room, mine is 5x4. You should check with your local building department though. 

Jaytee said:

RobertRoe said: